Board of Directors

John Calvin School is a private, Christian school from the Canadian Reformed Church denomination in Smithville.

Each family with a child enrolled in Kindergarten – Grade 8 must maintain a membership in the Society. The Society has an elected Board of Directors as well as Staff that work together to direct the operational aspects of the school.

The Society holds, at a minimum, two annual meetings for members and supporters. There are also voluntary advisors comprised of parents, staff and supporting members to offer support and information on educational, operational, financial and community relations matters.

Society Board members are elected individuals who are passionate and committed to provide leadership and see that the  mission and operations of John Calvin School are realized.

This governance model provides parents and supporters the opportunity to actively participate in providing quality Christian education for the students.

PositionNameemailLOCAL
ChairmanN. Vandenoevernick.vandenoever@johncalvinschool.comNiagara S.
Vice-ChairR. Boverhofron.boverhof@johncalvinschool.comGrassie
SecretaryD. Ravensbergendanielle.ravensbergen@johncalvinschool.comSmithville
TreasurerS. Manssherri.mans@johncalvinschool.comGrassie
League RepK. Rieseboschkurtis.riesebosch@johncalvinschool.comLincoln
Policy DirectorB. DeVriesbart.devries@johncalvinschool.comGrassie
Board MemberD. Hummeldevon.hummel@johncalvinschool.comSmithville
Board MemberD. Schulenbergdan.schulenberg@johncalvinschool.comSmithville
Board MemberA. Stievaadam.stieva@johncalvinschool.comTintern
Board MemberT. Tenhagetroy.tenhage@johncalvinschool.comNiagara S.
Board MemberG. VanderVeldegrace.vandervelde@johncalvinschool.comGrassie
Board MemberS. Vissteven.vis@johncalvinschool.comGrimsby

Committees of the Board                 __________  Chairman of committee        * Non-board committee member

EducationFinanceTransportationBuildingHuman Resources

J. VanIperen*


A. Buist*

G. Hofsink*

M. Schulenberg*

B. Stel*

N. VandenOever

G. VanderVelde

K. VanPykeren

S. Mans


J. Blokker*

T. Bosscher*

I. Dokter*

A. Ouwersloot*

C. Ravensbergen*

G. VanWoudenberg*

D. VandenOever*


B. Baartman*

M. Beukema*

T. Tenhage

K. North*


A. Schulenberg*

A. Stieva

M. Werkman*

R. D’Addazio*


M. Bartels*

R. Boverhof

C. DeVries*

G. Hofsink*

M. Joosse*

G. VanIperen*

S. Vis

PromotionLCRSSPolicyITCCRTC

N. Muis*


B. Alkema*

M. Datema*

M. Deboer*

L. Jongsma*

E. Nordeman*

D. Schulenberg

D. Vandam*

B. VandenOever*

G. VanLuik*

K. Riesebosch

M. Rozema


J. Kingma*

D. Ravensbergen

B. Devries

J. Evink*


J. Broersma*

S. Horsman*

D. Hummel

M Joosse*

K. Vanderlaan*

R. Vandervegte*

K. Riesebosch

Mission Statement:

The purpose of John Calvin School is to assist and support parents in the education of their covenant children to the glory of God.

© 2015 Canadian Reformed School Society of Smithville and Surrounding District